December 2, 2009

The two styles of scores offered on this newer release from La-La Land Records would be the equivalent of offering a Mozart and Mahler work on the same CD. I could also say that they were two somewhat shorter scores and nicely fit onto one CD allowing the purchaser a 2 for 1 promotion. Let us also say that it shows the diversity of a talent that Hollywood was fortunate to have for so many years. Just remember as you listen your going from comedy to suspense and in this case Rock Hudson isn’t in the fluffy one but Tim Robbins, Walter Matthau, and Meg Ryan are.

I.Q. is built around the childhood theme “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star,” a musical characterization of Einstein in the movie, played by Matthau the wacky matchmaker in the film. Twinkle is performed complete or part of in several of the cues and in different musical styles. Also included in the mix of cues are doo-wap, some romantic piano/harp/synthesizer material, violin fiddling, as well as acoustic piano and regular percussion. “The Riders” is a nice example of the doo-wap material complete with sax and chorus followed by the romantic theme. Both of these themes along with “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” are used as motifs for the major characters in the film. “Wahoo/ End Credits” includes a reprise of the love theme that could bring a tear to your eye, “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star performed solo and then a little more complex, with doo-wap, brass, counterpoint, and doo-wap with sax in a 6+ minute cue. Nice wrap up! While very few will rate this as a must have it is still a nice addition to your collection.

Seconds, from the very beginning, with its devil like trill followed by some pretty eerie organ chords is not something to play for a first date. You could say it has a Danse Macabre and Toccata and Fugue reference which shows the classical study of Jerry to make points but on this CD I might just play the end credits of I.Q. The main title also introduces the haunting theme, which is used throughout the short score. It is a memorable one that you won’t likely forget very soon, if ever. In fact this reviewer is surprised that the main title, which includes the main theme, hasn’t ever made it to a Halloween or scary CD of some type. The love theme as part of “Reflections” is not the romantic whistling theme that we’ve heard of some but more of one of solitude. The drawback with this score is the dialogue bleed into some of the tracks. As explained in the liner notes by producer Dan Goldwasser the three split channel mono source (the only thing available) contained dialogue, music, and sound effects and there were situations in editing that a choice had to be made between cutting music with the dialogue or letting some background remain. Given the brevity of the score to begin with (31 minutes), the choice was to give the listener as much of the music that remained. While the bonus tracks are clearly marked to contain dialogue bleed there are still a couple of tracks in the main body of the score that you can also hear something. Don’t let this influence your decision to own this fine CD, just be aware of the drawback.

This edition is limited to 3000 copies so act while there is still time to enjoy this fine release. Recommended

Produced by Dan Goldwasser

Edited and Mastered by Mike Matessino

Track listing

1. Campus Morning* (01:56)

* Contains “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”

2. Fundamental Order* / First Sight / Chance / Craps (03:00)

* Contains “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”

3. The Riders (01:23)

4. The Watch / I Fixed It (01:20)

5. Ideas / Dress Up (01:44)

6. The Lecture (01:29)

7. Count the Stars* (02:07)

* Contains “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”

8. First Exam (01:20)

9. Signals (02:20)

10. Equations** / A Little Smile* (01:02)

** Not used in film / * contains “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”

11. Caged Fun (01:15)

12. I Really Do (01:08)

13. Years Ago / Practice (01:10)

14. Don’t Panic (02:29)

15. April Fool (01:01)

16. The Compass (02:22)

17. Wahoo / End Credits* (06:23)

* Contains “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”

18. Dress Up (alternate) (01:36)

19. Wahoo (with extension) (03:06)

Tracks 1 to 19 from I.Q. (Total Time: 38m 00s)

20. Main Title (03:00)

21. 39 Lafayette Street (02:17)

22. Quiet Isolation (02:14)

23. Nightmare (02:50)

24. Transformation (01:16)

25. Rehabilitation / Strange Arrival (02:16)

26. Restless Hours (02:53)

27. Reflections (01:59)

28. Begin Again / Peaceful Aftermath (02:24)

29. End Title (01:15)

30. Quiet Isolation (contains dialogue bleed) (02:27)

31. Restless Hours (contains dialogue bleed) (03:12)

32. Peaceful Aftermath (contains source) (00:52)

33. Begin Again (contains dialogue bleed) (01:44)

Tracks 20 to 33 from SECONDS (Total Time: 31m 13s)

Total Duration: 01:08:50