Jane Eyre (2011)

April 6, 2011

I saw Jane Eyre at the theater last night and while I thought that the film was good (***) there wasn’t the romantic tension between Wasikowska and Fassbender as Wilson and Stephens in the 2006 BBC Miniseries production. The miniseries also had the advantage of being 200+minutes versus 120 minutes. The added time helped contribute to the success as this is a difficult story to tell in two hours in my opinion. Judi Dench was excellent but seemed out of place at times. Perhaps I’ve just seen her in so many other roles. The surround effect went way over the top and a couple of times I found it quite annoying. The score was extremely effective in the film and as Jon pointed out the violin playing was a thing of beauty. I missed a really strong main title/end title but that is me I understand having grown up with this kind of score in so many films. I would be curious at some point to hear the music away from the film. It was very pleasant to see something away from the Hollywood formula of sex, foul language, violence and excessive action and special effects. This film had none of that at all just good acting to a timeless story.

Leave a Reply

